Rapid City Chamber of Commerce

Young Professionals Group

Andy Bartling

Committee Chair: Andy Bartling
YPG Manager: Kristina Simmons

We are currently seeking YPG Steering Committee Members for Fiscal Year 2018. If you are interested in more information, click here. To download the application, click here. The application the deadline is Friday, June 16. 

Follow us on Social Media!

Young Professionals Group facebook button YPG Twitter 

Our Mission

The Young Professionals Group is committed to the advancement of the 21 to 40 year-old workforce, focusing on the development of future business leaders. The group accomplishes this by promoting professional development, networking, community involvement and civic awareness.

The YPG began with an explosive launch in March 2007 with a simple agenda: “To enrich our community by uniting and developing our young professionals.” We invite you to help build upon the momentum by joining this dynamic group.

Our Vision

A young Professional is a goal-oriented individual between the ages of 21-40 with the mindset to pursue a career path. It is not so much the job or vocation that defines the Young Professional as it is the individual’s drive and investment in his or her own future, and in turn, the future of the Black Hills community.

Join YPG!  There is a $75 annual membership fee for the period from September 1 through August 31 of each year (payments received after May will be applied to the next fiscal year). YPG members can attend YPG Monthly Socials for free as long as they RSVP, and also receive regular monthly e-mail communications with event announcements, updates and articles. 

To become member, fill out the YPG Membership Application and e-mail it to Kristina Simmons.

Get involved through a YPG Subcommittee

The YPG is made up of four subcommittees:  Community Involvement, Events, Membership, and the Legacy Endowment Fund.  YPG members can get more involved by serving on one of these subcommittees.  If you are interested, please review the subcommittees below and contact the chair of that subcommittee, or email Kristina, or call (605) 718-8465 Mon-Fri from 9am to 1pm. Subcommittee Meeting times are listed below, but may be subject to change.

Community Involvement

This subcommittee manages and organizes all YPG volunteer efforts.   In addition, we actually find projects to do while we are meeting!   Keep checking back for meeting times/places, or contact Kelli or Stacia for more information.


This committee plans and executes networking events for YPG.   We set up event venues, themes and drawing prizes for socials.  Our goal is to engage members and potential members in a welcoming after-work hours atmosphere, where young professionals can socialize and network. Meeting time:  First Monday of the month, 5:30 pm @ Murphy's.  Contact Kyle or Seth for more information.  


Networking is the heart of the organization, and this subcommittee works to increase our numbers and welcome new members.  Meeting time: First Tuesday of the month, 5:15 @ Murphy's.  Contact Shawn or Andy for more information.

Legacy Endowment

In 2014, RC YPG established its very own YPG Endowment Fund, dedicated to fostering the health of the community through programs that support food, clothing, shelter or education.  Contributions can be directed to BHACF/RCCC Young Professionals Group Endowment Fund, PO Box 231, Rapid City, SD  57709, or follow this link to donate now (use the drop down menu to click on Young Professionals Group Acorn Endowment). Contributions are deductible to the maximum extent allowable for federal income tax purposes.  

YPG Steering Committee

Chairperson:  Andy Bartling, Modern Woodmen
Vice Chair:  Shawn Ludemann, First National Bank
Secretary Treasurer: Kelly Kabrud, Ketel Thorstenson 
Past Chair:  Kelly Buntrock, First Interstate Bank

YPG Subcommittees

Community Involvement Co-Chair:  Kelli Kabrud, Ketel Thorstenson LLP
Community Involvement Co-Chair:  Stacia Slowey, HDR Engineering
Events Co-Chair:  Kyle Lambert, Ketel Thorstenson, LLP
Events Co-Chair:  Seth Malott, Century 21 - Clear View
Membership Co-Chair:  Shawn Ludemann, First National Bank
Membership Co-Chair:  Andrew Bartling, Modern WoodmenSponsors

YPG Endowment Fund Committee: Executive YPG Steering Committee Members